Setting Things On Fire Is Fun

Thought Catalog

It’s that time again; visited every four years by the World Cup, you get that feeling of communal solidarity. St George’s flags everywhere in England, it’s been a long time coming and the weather is beautiful. I find it’s a real burst of positivity throughout the country that I feel only Football brings. I’ve always been an avid football fan and I don’t think there’s anything quite like the uproar of a crowd as the ball finds itself in the back of the net. Sheer jubilation, a real emotional high where everyone’s on the same side, it really brings people together.

Alas, I can’t be happy with it all and I’m not talking about referees or poor offside calls. Whilst I love the sporting propaganda and embracing one’s nationality, I find that I’m becoming increasingly more aware of the culture of placing sporting bets. I’ve always been around it, my…

View original post 544 more words

Leave a Reply

